When you look for sth here

Saturday, 28 November 2015

Converted, two-faced, and universal

After years of a two-faced acclamation of no-TV life, I failed.
Started watching the famous House.
And enjoying it, which is even more annoying.

In one of the episodes, the 5 stages of dying were revealed. Apparently (with few members of my family being heavily involved in saving lives, I should have known that; I didn't...), apparently then - this is an actual theory, called Kuebler-Ross model.

I watched it, read it - denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance - and thought: really? It was invented in the 60s of the XXth century?

There was a poet in Poland, who used to sit under a tree and write, you guessed it, poems. He lived over 500 years ago. When his little daughter passed away (not a big deal back then, however cruel that may sound; the mortality ratio among children was way much higher than today), he wrote a series of 20 poems, digging into his soul, describing his tragedy.
In short, it was the most ultimate selfie of a soul missing someone really close.

And the individual pieces of the series were forming a journey each devastated human being may follow after death. There was disbelief at first, followed by rage, attempts to understand it, complete sorrow and pain, and finally - consolation.
Rings a bell?

I am not at all suggesting Ms Elizabeth Kuebler-Ross read Swedish translation of Jan Kochanowski poems, and decided to use these, in a sneaky way, as a basis of her theory.
I am suggesting death is universal. What we feel is universal.

And if I think about it a bit longer, the 5 stages of dying deal with every type of loss.
Like the one after a break-up.

No comments:

Post a Comment